What He Requires Of Me

I’ve always loved Micah 6:8, “And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.” . But today it really has me thinking. Do i do these things? Do i do what He requires? Do i act justly? Do i love mercy? And is my walk a humble one? I sure hope so. But i know not all of the time.

Since the new year started I’ve been walking for an hour every day. Normally i listen to music during this time…from worship, to punk rock to some ghetto rap. But today i decided to listen to an audio book – Margaret Fienburg’s “Hungry for God”. While listening i found my self crying as i walked up and down my drive way…yes, i walk around and around my driveway for an hour….sometimes when its cold i wear a bright pink hat with ear flaps…i ultimately look like a dork when i walk. But that’s beside the point.

Margaret’s book really struck a chord with me and where i have been lately. Hungry. Needing a little push. Focused on my own life and everyday duties. My own wants and plans for this year.

After my walk i log on to Facebook and see the scripture in Proverbs 31:25 “She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs with no fear of the future”, which has been a scripture i try to live by as of late.

All these 3 things combined have me taking a look at myself and asking “Am i doing this right? Am i living what i preach? Am i living in step with God? Is my heart in these places, walking with no fear and laughing at the future because i have peace that i am taken care of? Can i say that i seek justice and that i love mercy? Is my heart too bogged down with this and that to have any room for God and to be His hands and feet to a desperate and hurting world? I am willing to say “send me! use me!”.

Am i doing what he requires of me? Am i living a life that reflects Him?

These questions are making take a check of what i am living for and what i am doing here. I feel God tugging at my heart today to be open. To have a soft heart. To lean not on my understanding but to lean on His. To press my ear to him and listen to what He wants from this humble servant of His.

So, here’s to soft, open hearts, eyes and ears. May we all be open-hearted enough to do what He requires of us – “To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God”

~Cecily

Leave a Reply

