Time to Rejoice

It’s about lunch time, Chason’s at a meeting and i’m sitting here supposed to be working but instead find myself a bit emotional and convicted.

I read a post that my cousin shared on her blog, and i started to cry. The blog was about a new thing she’s starting up called “Now Rejoice”; a post on her blog every Tuesday where someone will share how God has restored them. The scripturte she based it on is Psalm 51:8 “Oh, Give me back my joy again; you have broken me – now let me rejoice”.

So many things have been stealing joy lately. Work stress, wedding stress, and on and on. It’s those things that make us forget that we have indeed been restored and we should be rejoying instead of quarreling or stressing.

Both my husband and I have been through enough pain in our lives. We’ve been to that place where you cry to God and ask him to be your joy because you have none left.  That dark place of having nothing to cling to, and being complety lost and joyless.

But now, now we have been restored! Both of us are still healing from past scars, but we have been given back our joy! Where once our arms were empty, they are now filled.

Before I met my husband there was a day when I was crying to God for some comfort and clarity, and the scripture in Revelation 21:5 jumped out to me; “He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true”.

I believe that was God’s answer to my confusion and pain. I make all things new. These words I speak are faithful and true. Believe them.

And He does my friends, God really does make all things new. The Lord has been faithful to both my husband and I in restoring us and our joy. We are starting are new life together, one that is full of joy and is a testament to God’s faithfulness and love. It is now time to rejoice in that! It’s time to cherish and laugh and be happy, because He has redeemed us and given us this time to rejoice in that redemption!

And this is what I am convicted about. I have not been rejoicing enough. And that ends now. That scripture will be a staple in our home, and from now on when things are stressful and tension builds, I will remember where we came from and how far God has brought us, and remember to rejoice in His restoration!

Take some time to visit my cousin’s blog These Happy Times and see what all this rejoicing is about! 🙂 

~Cecily

Leave a Reply

