Fourth of July Fun

Last week we joined the rest of America in celebrating freedom and our great country….by eating tons of food and watching pretty explosions in the sky.

Independence day is one of my favorite holidays, along with New Years, if only for the reason that there are fireworks! Oh how I love fireworks! 🙂 Normally every year my family and I head over to the bay in our small Texas town and watch the fireworks display go off over the bay front as kids ride the Ferris wheel at the carnival. It’s a loved family and town tradition. This Fourth of July was a bit different for me though, since I am no longer living in my home state, I had the opportunity to celebrate the Fourth with my husband and his family Georgia style 🙂

We started our celebration off with taking in the fireworks display down at Lake Dow, a community down the street from us. We ended up meeting Chason’s friend and his wife who were taking their little boy to see the show.  It was fun watching the beautiful colors exploding in the Georgia Sky with old friends of my husbands… watching them holding their son and pointing out the colors to him i couldn’t help but dream of us one day doing the same with our own little ones (yes, so girly 🙂

(beautiful fireworks at Lake Dow)

The next day we officially celebrated Independence Day with a big cookout with Chason’s parents. His mom made a delicious and refreshing watermelon slush that we all enjoyed out by the pool.

We swam and chilled for a bit under the warm summer sun, and then headed inside for the yummy feast!

(lots of food!)

(In-laws saying “hello” to my camera:)

Chason was the cook of the day, grilling burgers, hot dogs, and brats, for us all. I love the way my husband cooks, marinating and stuffing the dogs and burgers in jalapeno! Love that he likes hot food as much as i do! 🙂

The burgers, hot dogs, and brats, were all so good it was crazy! Spicy and so tasty! Chason decided to make his own “big dawg” (a place that we frequent around here) and put tons of chili and other toppings, have to say it was pretty close to the real thing!

(Chason enjoying his creation)

Later on that evening (after we didn’t feel so stuffed anymore), we dove into an ice cream cake that I had made earlier in the day.I made it to look like the flag by putting strawberries and blueberries on the top…i would post a photo but my blueberries were sliding off lol (guess I’ll freeze it longer next time! ha!).

We ended the day by Chason and I popping some fireworks he had left over from when he was a kid, and sitting out on the swing catching out some of the neighbors show as well.

It was a special day for us since last year we didn’t get to spend the holiday with each other because he was volunteering at Creation Fest and i (like a crazy person) stayed in Texas, so it was very sweet to spend one of my favorite holidays together this year 🙂

Hope your Independence Day was just as special! 🙂

~Cecily

Leave a Reply

